My first moose!

My weekend has been absolutely fabulous! I wasn’t so sure it would be. In fact I thought it was going to be down right boring! On Friday I decided it was time to visit the coastal trail that everyone talks about and to hunt down some wildlife given the fact I am the only one in my consortium who hasn’t seen some form of it. I was definitely not disappointed! The views are stunning, and the path goes through the forest. You feel like you are in a rain forest. There are huckle berries to pick too. Sure enough I not only ran into a moose, but a moose and her baby. I was able to get some pics because she seemed cautious but not dangerous or scared. As long as I stayed on my bike she was fine, and once she saw I had no intention of hurting her little one she went back to eating and ignored me as I rode by. The wind was crazy though because a storm was coming in and it even blew me off my bike. The rest of the night I spent relaxing and talking some to Jason.

Saturday I got the chance to go hiking with a friend here. He took me to Eagle River and we hiked to the top of a mountain there. It was sooooooo steep. More of a workout then my running. We got to the top and it was amazing! So quiet and peaceful. On one side you have the city, then you look to the right and these amazing mountains covered in green grass and flowers, then behind me there was a view of mountains with snow! Just spectacular. The way back down wasn’t much easier and I fell on my butt a few times, but really there are no words. Unfortunately I forgot to take Pavel along with me. I guess he was too busy training lately. He better be ready for the shooting range and blueberry picking this week!

I seriously can’t wait 25 days until I get to show Jason around. I hope he falls in love with it the way I have. Okay, time to get stuff together for work tomorrow. I’m booked with patients and it doesn’t look like they are gonna go easy on me.

view of anchorage from the coastal trail

view of anchorage from the coastal trail

view from the coastal trail

view from the coastal trail

my first moose!

my first moose!

view of anchorage from the mountain

view of anchorage from the mountain

top of the mountain

top of the mountain

me at the top

me at the top

top of the mountain

top of the mountain

Leave a Reply

