I wasn’t mauled by a bear!

So the big trip is over. Wow! That pretty much sums it up for me. I was terrified this entire week would leave me feeling sleepy and grumpy and hungry without my usual gym routine and my usual foods to eat. I can’t say that is really what happened though. I definitely left to meet people with a pretty negative attitude. When I got to the residency to meet the people from Anchorage who were all driving together, Dr. Dewane and Dr. Parett were very welcoming. I rode to the restaurant with Vang, Ginny, and Ginny’s husband. Then everyone slowly got in from their respective placements. There are five of us in Anchorage (3 at the FMC including me) 2 in Fairbanks, and 2 in Nome. The first night was kind of overwhelming, and I have to say it was the first night since I got to Texas that I cried about missing Jason. That first week after I said goodbye I was constantly randomly breaking into tears. Since then I miss him tons and might get choked up, but haven’t cried. It’s weird it would be the first night of camping that would cause this reaction, but I figure he is the person who manages to center me and make me see the big picture. I really kind of needed that at the moment. I went to bed a little sad, and woke up to rain. The first day was filled with paperwork, but I immediately seemed to bond with Jordan who will also be working at the FMC with me. We started talking and came up with the idea to have a prom when Jason comes up in the fall since neither Jordan nor Jason has been to prom. We’ve invited jenn and the other interns and even have a logo. It should be fun, and also a little silly of course.

The rain did let up, and I got a chance to walk with Hailey who will be the leader of our process group from Fairbanks. That was great, and then I jumped rope and did some abs. That immediately made me perk up. I found ways each day to get in some exercise from walking miles, to jumping jacks, and lunges. I stayed more alert that way. I also wasn’t eating very much. I ended up eating egg white omelets I made for myself almost every day. I initially loved them, but now I can’t eat another.

I have to say the week was surprisingly good. The other interns are amazing, and we seemed to bond. I was scared about that. I know I am a bit more quiet especially around new people and new situations. Eventually we just kind of bonded. It will be fun to see how we each grow over the year and hear about the different things going on at our different sites,

I did not see any bears or moose! I want to. I think everyone else has now. I am not sure I am cut out for long camping trips. It was okay the first day or two, but I really wanted my bed and shower and gym. The shower was kind of gross and it was cold. I also really hated waking up at night and having to walk to go to the restroom. Anyway, we got back today at 11. I have the weekend to relax some, and then it is HR orientation at 7:30 am Monday whooo fun, not. I have it again on Tuesday, and then I will finally be in the clinic on Wednesday.

Other than that there is not too much to say, Pavel has been nominated as our mascot this year. Jason and I will be seeing each other in thirteen days in Seattle. Then only three weeks and he will be with me in Anchorage. All I have to say is I am so excited to sleep in my nice big bed tonight!

pavel was ready to get home

pavel was ready to get home

meier lake at 11 pm

meier lake at 11 pm

Hailey Jackie and me the last night (yeah its after ten and still sunny)

Hailey Jackie and me the last night (yeah its after ten and still sunny)

camp fire bonding

camp fire bonding

Pavel roasting a marshmallow for his smore

Pavel roasting a marshmallow for his smore

pavel playing life guard at the lake

pavel playing life guard at the lake

pavel about to go for a swim

pavel about to go for a swim

IMG_0882

we are having prom when Jason comes up, Jordan made the logo for us

we are having prom when Jason comes up, Jordan made the logo for us

Leave a Reply

