finally exploring AK!!!!

So Pavel has had an exciting few days in Anchorage so far. He didn’t get to go with me to my health screening though. That was an experience. My mom didn’t keep my shot records, so they had to take what seemed like all my blood so they can test it for what I’m immune for. Then they injected me with the TB test, and of course I started feeling nauseous and almost passed out. The nurse was amazing though, and she let me sit there and drink a few liters of water. I also had my drug test and TOBACCO test. Yes, the campus and staff must be tobacco free. Glad I was never a smoker. After that I thought I deserved a treat and took myself to the dimond mall. HAHAHAHa that is no mall! There was an old navy, an American eagle, a hot topic, and torrid, and a forever 21! I got very depressed.

The past couple of days I have spent some time with Jenn! I am so glad I already had a friend here. Two days ago we went to one of her coworkers places, and we got to meet some mushing dogs. Very cute, but kind of disturbing. They are kept on rope that is only a few feet long all year round. They get food twice a day during winter, but only once the rest of the year. They are super energetic though. Then we went to Palmer where we ate at a restaurant or rather Jenn’s coworker and her mom (she is visiting this week) ate and Jenn and I were picky as usual, but I did have some amazing tea. From there we went to Hatcher’s Pass which is absolutely breathtaking. It was in the 30s though when we got into the mountains, so I was freezing. I can’t wait to go back and try some of the hiking trails though.

Yesterday was the fourth, and Jenn’s boyfriend suggested we go downtown to a fair, but it turned out to be more for kids. This gave a chance to explore downtown though. I was freezing! It was raining, and already so cold and its only July! I am now freaking out about my camping orientation trip that starts Sunday and goes through Friday! I have been marathon shopping for warmer clothes. The good news is everyone here is super friendly and always willing to help. The bad news is most places aren’t carrying winter clothes right now. I was able to scramble to put together a few things, and then some people I have met here have helped me find cheaper sites to start ordering things from. That’s the other thing, things here are expensive!

Other than that there hasn’t been too much excitement. I probably won’t be posting till I get home from camping (especially since tomorrow night is another long distance date with Jason), but yes that will be an experience. One I hope doesn’t get me on the wrong foot with the internship. I just have three weeks till I meet Jason in Seattle. So excited to see him. I can’t believe how easy things are with him. (SHALL I CALL YOU OUT ON BLUSHING AGAIN JASON?) When we talk about the future it sounds so amazing especially since we will both be finishing our training so close in time. We figured out tonight we have talked every day for almost a full three months (and most days for multiple hours) How the heck do we still have more to say to each other? Okay it’s time for bed soon, but its still daylight. I won’t complain I’m sure I’ll miss it come winter.

Pavel visiting a mushing dog in Chugiak

Pavel visiting a mushing dog in Chugiak

Pavel sitting on a mushing dog house (where they sleep all year)

Pavel sitting on a mushing dog house (where they sleep all year)

Pavel drinking tea in Palmer at Red Turkey

Pavel drinking tea in Palmer at Red Turkey

pavel and i half way up Hatcher's Pass

pavel and i half way up Hatcher’s Pass

Jenn, Pavel and I at a lodge near the top of hatcher's pass

Jenn, Pavel and I at a lodge near the top of hatcher’s pass

Pavel and I at a creek towards the bottomg of hatcher's pass

Pavel and I at a creek towards the bottomg of hatcher’s pass

Pavel and i FREEZING in the middle of downtown

Pavel and i FREEZING in the middle of downtown

uh oh we were caught by a moose

uh oh we were caught by a moose

Pavel and I got attacked by a bear

Pavel and I got attacked by a bear

Leave a Reply

