and so it begins

And so it begins. Actually I know I won’t finish writing this before it begins because it’s almost time for bed, so this is a two day blog for me. Tomorrow is hospital orientation. 7 am way to freaking early, but I will console myself with the fact it is 11 am in Michigan, not so bad right?

A lot has been happening here in Michigan. I finally got my condo signed on. I bought a bunch of furniture, and my mattresses will be delivered tomorrow. I had my internet/cable hooked up today. We are still in the hotel till Saturday night, and then my mom leaves on Sunday. I can’t say that I am too sad. I have come to realize I need to be able to have space to organize things the way I want and to make some mistakes. Anyway, she has helped a lot. Unfortunately they have started my grandpa on morphine. I don’t really know what that means, but she may try to make it back to Houston Saturday instead if need be. I hope my grandpa gets better. I know I won’t make it back there before the year is up, but I knew that when I saw him the day before I flew up here.

Jason and I have become even closer if possible (those who have seen us texting each other know what I mean). I couldn’t have gotten through this stress without him. I am maybe flying to Seattle to see him the end of July as long as I don’t work that weekend, and he is coming here the end of August through the beginning of September! Almost a full week and a half.  He also took Pavlov on some adventures before he shipped him my way, so I will be attaching those photos, but Pavlov was well fed and even did some work in the hospital before he had to catch his flight.

My mom and I also visited hill side which starts maybe 4 minutes out of anchorage. We drove to Whittier and the view is amazing. I’ll attach photos too. I can’t wait to get out and do more.

Oh and the exciting news is I ran today for the first time since my electric shock treatment for my foot. No pain so far! Keep your fingers crossed. I just saw an ad for mount marathon here in July. 26.2 miles up a mountain, think I should end my internship with a celebratory race next year? I do!

Now for day two updates. Actually this is not the day after. Hospital orientation left me exhausted. It was mainly for the residents so a complete waste of my time. I did find the fact we have a code for moose there funny. Other than that, boring!

After the orientation was over, my dad called, and my grandpa was dying. I called to try and talk, but they said he wasn’t awake or conscious. He passed away only minutes after. I won’t be able to make it home for the funeral, but I did get to see my grandpa right before I came up to AK. He was the same sweet mischievous man I know. He kept asking when I was leaving. That’s typical, but normally he also asks when I will be back. He didn’t do that. Instead he focused on Jason and where we might settle. I think he knew what was coming. I love that man so much! It won’t be the same without him.

Today I got the rest of my stuff moved in, and this will be my first night in my new place.

hillside

hillside

hillside

hillside

hillside

hillside

hillside

hillside

pavel getting a snack before he left

pavel getting a snack before he left

pavel

pavel

pavel visiting my old office

pavel visiting my old office

pavel helping jason at the hospital

pavel helping jason at the hospital

pavel shopping for snacks for the plane ride

pavel shopping for snacks for the plane ride

Leave a Reply

